It’s Random Acts of Poetry Day!

I hope everyone who requested a poem from me in the mail has theirs by now! If you don’t, it should be there soon. (If you live outside the U.S., I know those are still in transit.) Unfortunately, it looks like some of the postcards got a bit torn up as they went through the postal service. If the information on the back isn’t legible, please let me know and I can supply it! It should tell you some about about the photograph, title and first publication of the poem, my information, and a bit about Heartland.

If you want, feel free to comment here with your positive reaction to the poem and/or photograph! (On this occasion, I am not looking for critique, no matter how constructive.) I’d also love to see a picture of you with the poem, to see that it really did reach you!

And since today is all about sharing poetry, I encourage you to share your poem with others! Any poem; there’s something for everyone in the world of poetry, after all. To that end, here are some poems that I have really enjoyed in the past couple weeks:

“A Bell Buried Deep” by Veronica Golos. This is a stunning and devastating look at martial intimacy and the death of a child.

“Instructions for Finding a Detachable Set of Invisible Wings” by Jen Karetnick. I love the play with form and image here.

For the Blind Man in the Basilica di Santa Croce, Florence” by Jeffrey Thomson. I have a weakness for poems about Florence, where I lived as a study abroad student for a few months in college. The chosen descriptions, the movement through them and the speaker’s relationship to those images, what he wants to say about them and why, just makes this poem for me.

History” by Jennifer Denrow is a prose poem that resonated deeply with me in both subject and imagery. Definitely one I wish I’d written, that recalls Emerson’s lines about the experience of hearing your own thoughts and feelings come from someone else (though in a positive, not a jealous, way.)

And because this list has to end somewhere, I’ll close with mentioning “Winter” by Joanne Allred. The cold seasons are such a mix of positive and negative for me, I always enjoy reading other people’s emotional journeys through the cold months of the year.

Happy reading, everyone!

Leave a Reply

